Skip to: Navigation | Content | Footer

Our Board

Updated: 1 May 2015

The NZ Transport Agency Board meets monthly from February to December. It is responsible for making independent decisions on allocating and investing funds from the National Land Transport Fund. The Board publishes its planned programme of investment annually in a document called the National Land Transport Programme.

On this page:

The Minister of Transport can appoint up to eight members to the Board. Current members are:

Minutes of Board meetings are published in the month following the meeting.

View the Board meeting dates for 2015 and 2016.

Board committees

The Board has three committees, each with between three and four Board members:

  • Investment and Operations Board Committee
  • Audit, Risk and Assurance Board Committee
  • Remuneration and Human Resources Board Committee, Patsy Reddy, chair.

Board committees meet every two to three months.

Board profiles

Chris Moller.

Chris Moller

Chris Moller (Wellington), Chair

Chris is a non-executive director who chairs the boards of Meridian Energy Ltd and SKYCITY Entertainment Group Ltd. He is also a Director of Westpac New Zealand Ltd. He was previously Chief Executive of the New Zealand Rugby Union, Deputy Chief Executive of Fonterra Co-operative Group Ltd, and a director of a range of joint venture and subsidiary organisations within the New Zealand dairy industry, both domestically and internationally.

Dame Patsy Reddy.

Patsy Reddy

Dame Patsy Reddy (Wellington), Deputy Chair

Dame Patsy is a non-executive director and a qualified lawyer. She is Chair of the New Zealand Film Commission, and is a director of Payments NZ Ltd and Active Equity Holdings Ltd. She is also a chief crown negotiator for Treaty of Waitangi settlements in the Bay of Plenty. Her previous directorships include Telecom Corporation of NZ Ltd, SKYCITY Entertainment Group Ltd, New Zealand Post and Air New Zealand Ltd.

Gill Cox

Gill Cox

Gill Cox (Christchurch)

Gill is a chartered accountant and business consultant. He chairs MainPower NZ Ltd and Transwaste Canterbury Ltd, and is a director of a number of large, privately held companies involved in various industries including manufacturing, warehousing and distribution, infrastructure and seafood. Gill is also a member of the CERA Community Forum in Christchurch and the Greater Christchurch Education Advisory Board.

Tony Lanigan.

Tony Lanigan

Tony Lanigan (Auckland)

Tony is a professional civil engineer (FIPENZ), project management consultant and former general manager with Fletcher Construction. Tony was Chancellor of Auckland University of Technology and a director of Infrastructure Auckland. He is currently Vice Chair of Habitat for Humanity in New Zealand and Chair of New Zealand Housing Foundation. He is a director of Watercare Services Limited. Tony was made a member of the NZ Order of Merit in the 2013 New Year’s Honours list for services to tertiary education and the community.

Jerry Rickman.

Jerry Rickman

Jerry Rickman (Hamilton)

Jerry is a chartered accountant and professional director. Jerry currently chairs Alandale Life Care Ltd, EziBuy Holdings Ltd, HG Leach Ltd and Tidd Ross Todd Ltd and is a director of Power Farming Holdings Ltd. He was a member of Telecom’s Independent Oversight Group. He has chaired the boards of Waikato Regional Airport Ltd, Waikato District Health Board, and Innovation Waikato Ltd.

Nick Rogers

Nick Rogers

Nick Rogers (Auckland)

Nick Rogers is a geotechnical specialist with expertise in land stability, foundation support and natural disaster assessment. He has over 34 years experience on major infrastructure projects and in conducting land damage assessments for the Earthquake Commission in New Zealand. He has also worked on projects across the Asia-Pacific region. Nick has been a director for Tonkin and Taylor, and international development consulting firm, ANZDEC. Nick was made a Companion of the Queens Service Order for his services in natural disaster assessment throughout New Zealand, and in the recovery work in Christchurch during and after the Canterbury Earthquake series.

Mark Oldfield.

Mark Oldfield

Mark Oldfield (Christchurch)

Mark has over 30 years' experience working with businesses and communities in the Canterbury region. He is a director of Brenchley Farms Ltd in South Canterbury and also has other interests in Nelson/Tasman and Queenstown. From 1997 to 2010, he was a member of the Canterbury Regional Council (including the Regional Land Transport, Public Passenger Transport and Road Safety Committees). He has been a board member/vice-president of the South Canterbury Chamber of Commerce and was on the board of the Energy Efficiency Conservation Authority from 2010 to 2014.

Adrienne Young-Cooper.

Adrienne Young-Cooper

Adrienne Young-Cooper (Auckland)

Adrienne is a businesswoman, professional director and an Accredited Fellow of the Institute of Directors. She has a 30-year career in resource management and planning specialising in spatial planning, metropolitan growth management including infrastructure planning and large projects. Adrienne was the Deputy Chair of Auckland Regional Transport Authority (replaced by Auckland Transport) and was a Board member of Maritime New Zealand until 2011. Her experience and contribution in transport governance is extensive. She also is Deputy Chair of Auckland Waterfront Development Agency Limited (Waterfront Auckland), Deputy Chair of Housing New Zealand Corporation and Chair of the Hobsonville Land Company Limited. She also serves on several charitable trusts.