Skip to content

Access keys for

  • h Home
  • m Menu
  • 0 Show list of access keys
  • 2 Skip to content
  • 3 Skip to top

Bike for the Future Awards banner

The 2017 Bike to the Future Awards winners were announced at the Asia Pacific Cycle Congress (external link) dinner on 19 October 2017.

Bike to the Future Awards booklet for 2017The Bike to the Future Awards are an opportunity to acknowledge the dedication and contribution to cycling from cycling champions across the country, as well as New Zealand’s best cycling projects.

These awards celebrate the pedal pushers, cycling leaders, communities and individuals who have put their energy and innovation into making cycling a safer, more attractive transport choice. You can take a look at last year’s winners here.

In 2017 the NZ Transport Agency and Cycling Action Network (external link) (CAN) sponsored the awards  and welcomed the innovative cycling initiatives and passionate cycling champions from across the country that are helping to make New Zealand an even greater place to cycle.

Download the 2017 Bike to the Future Awards booklet [PDF, 2.5 MB]

2017 winners

The award recipients were:

Supreme Award

Big Bike Bling Award

This category covers transport infrastructure projects that have had the most significant impact on encouraging more people to ride and on creating a bike-friendly future, e.g. new cycle ways, cycle parking facilities, or general roading projects that assist and encourage more people to bike.

Bikes in Business Award

This category covers businesses and organisations that have made significant efforts to encourage and support cycling for its staff, customers, and/or clients, e.g. bike parking / changing facilities, employee support, incentive programmes, and company 'pool' bikes.

Get on Yer Bike Award

This category covers education or encouragement projects that have had a significant impact on encouraging more people to cycle, e.g. school education programmes, promotional cycling events and campaigns.

Innovation Hub Award

This category covers the design, engineering or construction of a cycling facility. May relate to innovative planning processes, materials, designs, partnerships, procurement or delivery models.

Outstanding Contribution to a Bike-Friendly Future Award

This category recognises the outstanding contribution made by an individual New Zealander to the promotion of cycling.

Taking Communities on the Journey Award

This category covers excellence in communications or community engagement activities related to a cycling project that resulted in a community welcoming new infrastructure either in the planning and/or implementation stages of the project.

This year's awards were judged by:

  • Pippa Coom – Chairperson Waitematā Local Board, cycling advocate and member of the Urban Cycleways Investment Panel
  • Richard Leggat – Chair of the New Zealand Cycle Trail, Board Member of Cycling NZ, Chair of the former Cycling Safety Panel, member of the Urban Cycleways Investment Panel
  • Peter King – Policy Research Manager / Editor, New Zealand Automobile Association

2017 finalists

Big Bike Bling Award Grey Lynn Pump Track (view video (external link) )
Spring Creek Cycleway (view video (external link) )
Bikes in Business Award Datacom (view video (external link) )
Electric Meg (view video (external link) )
Isthmus (view video (external link) )
Get On Yer Bike Award Bikes in Schools Tairāwhiti/Gisborne (view video (external link) )
Bikes in Schools Wellington (view video (external link) )
Puketāpapa Active Transport Haven (PATH) (view video (external link) )
Innovation Hub Award Auckland Transport Quay Street Cycleway (view video (external link) )
Cycling in the Waikato region Programme Business Case (view video (external link) )
Major Cycleways Professional Services and Construction Panels (view video (external link) )
Outstanding Contribution to a Bike-Friendly Future Award Brett Cotter (view video (external link) )
Peter Atikinson, Queenstown Peddlers (view video (external link) )
Richard Inder, Gate Pa School Principal (view video (external link) )
Taking Communities on the Journey Award Auckland Transport Karangahape Road Consultation (view video (external link) )
Uni-Cycle Major Cycle Route (view video (external link) )

Previous winners

View the recipients of the 2016 Bike to the Future Awards.

More information

If you have any questions about the awards please email