Skip to content

Access keys for

  • h Home
  • m Menu
  • 0 Show list of access keys
  • 2 Skip to content
  • 3 Skip to top

The Chief Executive of the NZ Transport Agency reports to the NZ Transport Agency Board. The board is appointed by the Minister of Transport and is responsible for making independent decisions on allocating and investing funds from the National Land Transport Fund. It publishes its planned programme of investment every three years in the National Land Transport Programme.

Find out more about the National Land Transport Programme

Board members

The Minister of Transport can appoint up to eight members to the board. Current members are listed below.

Michael Stiassny, Chair (Auckland)

Michael Stiassny Michael has widespread experience in all matters financial. He has a 40 year strong background in financial consultancy and is a prominent strategic advisor.  He is a leading corporate governance practitioner and advocate for sustainability practices. 

Michael is currently Chairman of Tower Limited and Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Whai Rawa Limited, as well as a director of a number of private companies. Michael is a Fellow and past president of The Institute of Directors in New Zealand (Inc.) (FInstD) and a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand. 

Dame Fran Wilde, Deputy Chair (Wellington)

Dame Fran Wilde

Fran is a non-executive director who chairs the Remuneration Authority, the Wellington Lifelines Group and the National Military Heritage Trust. She is also deputy chair of the Capital Coast District Health Board and serves on a number of other boards.

Fran was previously a cabinet minister, the mayor of Wellington, chair of the Wellington Regional Council and chief executive of the NZ Trade Development Board.

She has chaired a number of companies including Housing New Zealand, Wellington Waterfront and the New Zealand International Arts Festival and has been a director of others including ANZ, NGC Holdings, Humanware and Bethunes Investments Ltd. Fran was the first regional category winner of the Westpac Women of Influence Awards and is a chartered fellow of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand.

Nick Rogers (Auckland)

Nick RogersNick Rogers is a geotechnical specialist with expertise in land stability, foundation support and natural disaster assessment.

He has over 34 years’ experience on major infrastructure projects and in conducting land damage assessments for the Earthquake Commission in New Zealand.

He has also worked on projects across the Asia-Pacific region. Nick has been a director for Tonkin and Taylor, and the international development consulting firm ANZDEC.

Nick was made a Companion of the Queen's Service Order for his services in natural disaster assessment throughout New Zealand, and in the recovery work in Christchurch during and after the Canterbury earthquakes.

Mark Darrow (Auckland)

Mark Darrow

Mark is an experienced businessperson and director, specialising in corporate governance. He holds a Bachelor of Business degree, is a member of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants and a chartered member of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand.

He has significant experience across a number of sectors, including infrastructure, energy, agriculture, education, technology and automotive.

He is currently Chairman for The Lines Company, Primary ITO, Armstrong Motor Group and Signum Holdings, and a director for Counties Manukau District Health Board, Motor Trade Association and Balle Bros Group.

Mark is based in Auckland and has family ties to the King Country and Bay of Plenty.

Leo Lonergan (Wellington)

Leo Lonergan

Leo is a retired senior executive from the energy industry who spent most of his career working internationally.

Leo returned to New Zealand in 2013 after a 36-year career with Caltex and Chevron Corporations, including executive assignments in North America, Europe, Middle East and Asia. He was elected an officer of Chevron in 2005 and most recently led Chevron’s worldwide procurement and supply chain organisations with a team of 5000 people and global spend of US$50 billion per year.

He is a chartered fellow of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand and is deputy chair of the Victoria University Foundation.

Vanessa van Uden (Queenstown)

Vanessa van UdenVanessa van Uden completed one term as a Councillor on the Queenstown Lakes District Council before becoming Mayor in 2010. At the October 2016 election Vanessa stood down and has re-established her own company, Admin and Business Solutions through which she provides a wide range of business services to companies throughout the Queenstown area.

Vanessa has a Master of Business Administration and was awarded an ONZM in the New Year’s Honours 2017 for services to Local Government. She has been a member of the St John Area Committee since 2008, a Trustee of the Queenstown Trails Trust and a founding trustee of the Branches Charitable Trust and the Queenstown Lakes Baby Box Trust.

Board committees

The board has three committees:

  • Investment and Operations Board Committee
  • Audit, Risk and Assurance Board Committee
  • Remuneration and Human Resources Board Committee.

Board meetings

The board meets monthly from February to December, and board committees meet every two to three months.

View the schedule of board meetings in 2018

View the schedule of board meetings in 2019

Board minutes

Minutes of board meetings are published in the month following the meeting.

Read the minutes of past meetings

Board decisions

Find out about the board's recent investment decisions