Skip to content

COVID-19 SERVICES UPDATE: Information on Waka Kotahi services and the renewal date for extended WoFs, CoFs and driver licences. Find out more.

SCAM ALERT: Vehicle licence (rego) renewal phishing emails.

Access keys for nzta.govt.nz

  • h Home
  • m Menu
  • 0 Show list of access keys
  • 2 Skip to content
  • 3 Skip to top

When do I have to get my WoF/CoF renewed by?

If your WoF/CoF expires between 1 January and 11.59pm, 10 October 2020, you must renew it by 11.59pm, 10 October 2020.

Information about the temporary extensions in place(external link)

Will I need to pay more when I renew my WoF/CoF to cover the temporary extension period?

No. The period of temporary extension is covered by the previous WoF/CoF.

Can I wait until 10 October to renew my WoF/CoF?

We encourage you to renew your WoF/CoF as soon as possible to ensure your vehicle remains safe to use. While you have up to 11.59pm, 10 October 2020 to renew your WoF/CoF, we suggest you drop by your local inspection site or book now to secure an inspection time.

Where to get your WoF/CoF

You can renew your WoF/CoF at vehicle inspection sites around the country. Please contact your local provider to discuss any appointment processes and safety requirements in place.

Safety

It is still a requirement that vehicles must be safe to operate on a public road. At a minimum, vehicle owners need to self-inspect their vehicles using the TWIRL procedure (tyres, windscreen, wipers, mirrors, indicators, rust and lights) to assess their vehicle’s safety, using the guidance on our website.

Drivers of heavy vehicles should also follow the inspection guidelines on our website as a minimum safety check.

If your vehicle is unsafe, please have anything unsafe fixed and arrange for a WoF/CoF at your earliest convenience.

Drivers must continue to comply with all other road rules, as well as any relevant restrictions of their licence (e.g. learner licence restrictions and zero alcohol licences).

TWIRL safety check

Heavy vehicle maintenance guidelines [PDF, 303 KB]

Insurance

If you have questions about how temporary extensions impact your vehicle insurance, Insurance Council of New Zealand (ICNZ) have more information available on their website about their members, or you can ask your insurer directly.

ICNZ COVID-19(external link)

What if I can’t get my vehicle inspection completed before 11.59pm, 10 October 2020?

We encourage you to drop by your local inspection site or book and renew your WoF/CoF as soon as possible to ensure your vehicle remains safe and legal to use. If you are physically unable to take the vehicle in, you may decide to ask someone to take the vehicle on your behalf. Please check that your vehicle insurance covers another driver if you choose to do this.

If you do not have the WoF/CoF renewed by 11.59pm, 10 October 2020, you cannot legally use the vehicle.

What if my vehicle fails its inspection and I can’t get the work required done until after 11.59pm, 10 October 2020?

Vehicles that fail a WoF/CoF have 28 days to be brought back into compliance. You must not use the vehicle during that time except for the sole purpose of bringing it into compliance, provided the vehicle is safe to be driven.

If I don’t get my document renewed in time, what do I need to do?

Any vehicle with expired WoF/CoF/inspections as at 11.59pm, 10 October 2020 must not be used until the vehicle inspection is completed or certification is reinstated.
You may drive the vehicle solely for the purpose of bringing it into compliance, provided the vehicle is safe to be driven.

Heavy vehicle certifications will need to undergo a new certification, instead of re-certification.

Note: from 11.59pm, 10 October 2020, licensing (rego) cannot be renewed unless the WoF/CoF/entry certification is current and recorded in the Waka Kotahi Landata system. This applies to both licensing (rego) transactions online and at a licensing agent.

My WoF/CoF is temporarily extended, can I still purchase vehicle licensing (rego)?

Yes, you can still purchase your rego and this service is available on our website. This is a temporary change while extensions for WoFs/CoFs that expired from 1 January 2020 remain in place. After 11.59pm, 10 October 2020 you will need to have a current WoF/CoF/entry certification to purchase rego.

Purchase your rego(external link)

My WoF/CoF has expired and is temporarily extended. How do I check that my vehicle is safe to drive?

Vehicles must be safe to operate on a public road. At a minimum, vehicle owners need to self-inspect their vehicles using the TWIRL procedure (tyres, windscreen, wipers, mirrors, indicators, rust and lights) to assess their vehicle’s safety, using the guidance on our website.

Drivers of heavy vehicles should also follow the inspection guidelines on our website as a minimum safety check.

We encourage you to get your WoF/CoF renewed sooner rather than later and you can contact a local inspection site to check availability and the public health and safety measures in place.
It is in the best interest of public safety to have your vehicle inspection completed as soon as possible to bring it back into compliance.

Please be aware that there may be wait times due to current demand and the Government COVID-19 guidelines that must be followed. We also ask that you continue to be patient with those providing services as they adjust to working differently.

Remember, if you are unable to renew your WoF/CoF at this time, it is temporarily extended if it expired after 1 January 2020.Drivers must continue to comply with all other road rules, as well as any relevant restrictions of their licence (e.g. learner licence restrictions and zero alcohol licences).

TWIRL safety check

Heavy vehicle maintenance guidelines [PDF, 303 KB]

What impact will it have on my insurance if my WoF/CoF/certification has expired and I drive my vehicle while restrictions remain in place?

If you have questions about how temporary extensions impact your vehicle insurance, Insurance Council of New Zealand (ICNZ) have more information available on their website about their members, or you can ask your insurer directly.

ICNZ COVID-19(external link)

Will I receive a fine if my WoF/CoF shows as expired?

Enforcement agents (local councils and NZ Police) are aware that WoFs/CoF that expire 1 January to 11.59pm, 10 October 2020 are deemed current. Remember, you vehicle must be in a safe condition to drive on the roads. If your vehicle is unsafe, please arrange to have anything unsafe fixed and arrange for a WoF/CoF at your earliest convenience.

Top