Skip to content

Access keys for

  • h Home
  • m Menu
  • 0 Show list of access keys
  • 2 Skip to content
  • 3 Skip to top

As of 1 February 2018, a licence holder is not able to sit their CBTA 6F assessment until they have held their 6R licence for at least 9 months.

Find out more about competency based training and assessment (CBTA)

Getting your motorcycle licence in New Zealand involves a three-step process. At each step, you gain a new licence with fewer requirements and more responsibilities. It’s an approach that helps you build the skills and experience to ride safely on our roads.

View larger image [JPG, 253 KB]

'Getting your motorcycle licence' brochure [PDF, 425 KB]

Practical driver testing provider

On 1 May 2015 VTNZ took over as Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency's provider for all practical driver testing services. 

Find out more about the change in driver testing services