Finalists announced for New Zealand’s top cycling awards


Twenty nine innovative cycling projects and dedicated people from across New Zealand were announced today as finalists for the 2017 Bike to the Future Awards.

The awards, organised by the NZ Transport Agency and Cycling Action Network (CAN), celebrate the people and projects making cycling a better way to get around.

The finalists, selected from a new record of over 80 nominations, range from large scale infrastructure projects such as the Western Rail Trail in Hamilton, to community initiatives including USO Bike Ride, a programme that promotes cycling as a way of keeping healthy to Polynesian males across the country. 

CAN spokesman, Patrick Morgan, says that with the sheer number of nominations received compared to previous years, there's no doubt that momentum for cycling is increasing.

“With the Government and councils building new cycleways, investing in skills training for our young people and encouraging more and more Kiwis to give cycling a go, it’s getting even easier to get about by bike,” says Patrick.

NZ Transport Agency Senior System Design Manager, Brett Gliddon says the future of transport is about providing real transport choices as more New Zealanders look for faster, more efficient ways to get around our towns and cities.

“The Bike to the Future Awards recognise the best new infrastructure, innovative projects and dedicated people who are supporting the Government’s goal of making our towns and cities safer and more attractive to get about by bike. I wish the finalists well.”

The 2017 Award judges said the number and calibre of this year’s nominations are testament to the dedication of so many New Zealanders to sharing the benefits and the joy of cycling with their communities.

Speaking on behalf of the judging panel, Pippa Coom says, “It was inspiring and impressive to see a significant increase from last year in nominations from across the country for a wide range of projects, events, and initiatives having a significant impact on encouraging more people to cycle.  Along with the dedicated individuals providing New Zealanders with the confidence and skills to get about by bike, and significant growth in quality cycling infrastructure, we can tell the future is bright for a bike-friendly New Zealand.”

The winners will be announced at the Asia-Pacific Cycle Congress awards dinner in Christchurch on 19 October. The 2016 Supreme Award went to Auckland's Te Ara I Whiti (Light Path), which has since gathered several international awards.

This year’s finalists are:

Big Bike Bling Award

  • Grey Lynn Pump Track; Paul Wacker & Scott Kuegler, Auckland Council, Waitemata Local Board
  • Quay Street Cycleway; Auckland Transport, Auckland Council, NZ Transport Agency
  • Spring Creek Cycleway; Marlborough Roads, NZ Transport Agency
  • Western Rail Trail; Hamilton City Council, NZ Transport Agency

Bikes in Business Award

  • Automobile Association (AA)
  • Project Tahi; Datacom
  • Megan Page; Electric Meg
  • Isthmus
  • TravelWhiz; Abley Transportation Consultants Limited

Get on Yer Bike Award

  • I Love My Ride Campaign; Auckland Transport
  • Bikes in Schools – Wellington; Wellington City Council, Bike On New Zealand Charitable Trust
  • Bikes in Schools Tairawhiti/Gisborne; Tairawhiti Connext Charitable Trust, Gisborne District Council, New Zealand Community Trust, Eastland Community Trust, Bike On New Zealand Charitable Trust
  • Richard Barter - Puketetapapa Active Transport Haven (PATH), Global Lighthouse, Earth Action Trust, Roskill Youth Zone
  • USO Bike Ride
  • Megan Page; Electric Meg

Innovation Hub Award

  • Major Cycleways Professional Services and Construction Panels; Christchurch City Council
  • Cycling in the Waikato Region Programme Business Case; Waikato Regional Council, NZ Transport Agency, Cycling NZ, Sport Waikato, Te Awa River Ride, Hauraki District Council
  • Cycling Network Guidance (CNG); NZ Transport Agency, Abley Transportation Consultants Limited, ViaStrada Limited
  • Quay Street Cycleway; Auckland Transport, Auckland Council, NZ Transport Agency
  • Te Ara Mua Future Streets; Mangere-Otahuhu Local Board, Auckland Transport, Future Streets Research Team

Outstanding Contribution to a Bike-Friendly Future Award

  • Brett Cotter; The Big Bike Film Night
  • Marilyn Northcotte; en Velo
  • Peter Atkinson; Queenstown Pedallers
  • Teau Aiturau; Time to Thrive (Triple Teez) Trust and Mangere Bike FIT
  • Richard Inder; Principal - Gate Pa School, Gate Pa Community Cycleway

Taking Communities on the Journey Award

  • K Road public consultation; Auckland Transport, Auckland Council
  • Northern Corridor Improvements (NCI) - Shared Use Path; NZ Transport Agency, Aurecon, Just Add Lime
  • Uni-Cycle Major Cycle Route; Christchurch City Council, Opus, Aurecon, Riccarton Bush Trust, University of Canterbury
  • Waipu Cycleway Stage 1; Whangarei District Council, Waipu Cycling and Walkway Trust, Whangarei District Council

The awards were judged by:

Pippa Coom - Chairperson Waitemata Local Board, cycling advocate and member of the Urban Cycleways Investment Panel

Richard Leggat - Chair of the New Zealand Cycle Trail, Board Member of Cycling NZ, Chair of the former Cycling Safety Panel, member of the Urban Cycleways Investment Panel

Peter King - Policy Research Manager / Editor, New Zealand Automobile Association