Nine more vehicles join ANCAP’s 5-star constellation


Toyota has lifted its game with further safety improvements to the Hilux 4x4 dual cab utility earning it a maximum Australasian New Car Assessment Programme (ANCAP) safety rating of 5 stars.

This is a step up from the 4-star safety rating delivered in 2006 which reflected a reduced selection of standard safety assist technologies (SATs) available.

The updated ANCAP safety rating applies to all 4x4 Hilux diesel and petrol duel cab variants built from November 2013.

Dual frontal, side chest and curtain airbags are standard along with antilock brakes (ABS) electronic brake distribution (EBD) and electronic stability control (ESC). Three point seat belts are fitted to all seats.

ANCAP has also noted the addition of energy absorbing padding in the steering column cover to protect the driver’s knees from the ignition barrel assembly in a crash.

The Hilux dual cab 4x4 now sits alongside the single and extra cab 4x4 variants which received 5-star safety ratings in September. The 4x2 variants maintain their 4-star safety rating.

ANCAP has also delivered 5-star safety ratings for a collection of other new vehicles across a range of market segments today:

  • Ford EcoSport Titanium
  • Isuzu D-Max and MU-X 4x4 variants
  • Mercedes-Benz CLA Class
  • Nissan Altima
  • Nissan Pulsar hatch
  • Suzuki SX4 S-Cross
  • Fiat Panda (Fiat Chrysler NZ indicates likely launch early next year)

AA Motoring Services general manager Stella Stocks says manufacturers are really starting to shine by lifting the bar with SATs.

“Consumers in the new car market will find it difficult to buy a car that doesn’t have a 5-star ANCAP safety rating, but some go the extra mile.”

Ms Stocks says consumers should expect ABS, EBD and ESC as standard along with front and side airbags.

“Other things to look for are driver knee airbags, which are standard in the Ford Ecosport for example, and advanced seatbelt reminders for all seats.

“Pedestrian safety is also important and some manufacturers have taken this to the next level with features that activate to improve pedestrian outcomes if hit,” Ms Stocks says.

The Mercedes-Benz CLA is equipped with an active bonnet which has sensors to detect when a pedestrian has been struck. The bonnet will lift to provide greater clearance to the hard parts underneath.

Transport Agency Access and Use General Manager Celia Patrick says it is great news for Kiwi motorists that the range of affordable top safety-rated cars is continuing to grow.

"Crash statistics prove that drivers and passengers in five star-rated vehicles are much less likely to be seriously injured in a crash than occupants of lower rated vehicles.

“With today's safety technology, five star ratings are increasingly become the norm and we urge people to buy the safest vehicle they can afford.”

ANCAP is supported by all Australian and New Zealand motoring clubs, the Australian Government, the New Zealand Government, Australian state and territory governments, the Victorian Transport Accident Commission, NRMA Insurance and the FIA Foundation.

The full list of ANCAP’s vehicle safety ratings, other vehicle safety information and the specifications of the rated vehicles are available online at link) or link)