Skip to content

CORONAVIRUS DISEASE (COVID-19) SERVICES UPDATE: Learn about temporary extensions for driver licenses, endorsements, WoFs and CoFs. More information on our services

SCAM ALERT: vehicle licence (rego) renewal phishing emails

Access keys for nzta.govt.nz

  • h Home
  • m Menu
  • 0 Show list of access keys
  • 2 Skip to content
  • 3 Skip to top

NZ Transport Agency warns of high tides

|

All road users are being advised by the NZ Transport Agency that unusually high tides for the Manukau and Waitemata Harbours occurring over the next week have the potential to flood parts of the Auckland motorway network. High tides of up to 3.6m are expected from Saturday 19 to Thursday 24 of February.

"The high tides do not pose a significant risk to the safe operation of Auckland’s motorway, but they will definitely have some impact on low-lying sections of the network", says Tommy Parker, Auckland State Highways Manager for the the NZTA.

Mr Parker says the area most likely to be affected is sections of the road and cycleway on the Northwestern Motorway (SH16) between the Patiki Road Interchange and Rosebank Road Bridges. This section of the Northwestern is being raised as part of the Western Ring Route development to prevent flooding in the future.

"The cycleway in this area will definitely be underwater when the tides peak, but we do not think the motorway will be affected. However, we will be monitoring the situation and have plans in place to re-route traffic if necessary," Mr Parker says.

"We are advising cyclists to make sure they know when high tide occurs and to try and avoid using the cycleway 1.5 hours either side of high tide."

The unusually high tides will occur throughout the year on the following dates.

  • Saturday 19 February - Thursday 24 February
  • Saturday 19 March – Thursday 24 March
  • Sunday 17 April – Thursday 21 April
  • Monday 16 May – Friday 20 May
  • Monday 1 August – Friday 5 August
  • Monday 29 August – Sunday 4 September
  • Tuesday 27 September – Sunday 2 October
  • Wednesday 26 October – Tuesday 1 November
  • Friday 25 November – Wednesday 30 November

For more information on tide times, alternative routes or planned detours and closures please contact NZTA Auckland Motorways on 09 5200 200, email help@ama.nzta.govt.nz or visit www.aucklandmotorways.com(external link)

For more information contact:
Ewart Barnsley
Auckland Media Manager
T 09 928 8720
M 027 213 7616
E ewart.barnsley@nzta.govt.nz

Top