How to get your driver licence

To become a fully licensed class 1 driver, you need to pass through the 3 stages of the driver licensing system:

  • Stage 1 – learner licence.
  • Stage 2 – restricted licence.
  • Stage 3 – full licence.

You need to complete the requirements of each stage before you can move to the next.

You must pass a theory test before you can start stage 1 – learner licence.

Practical driving tests

As part of getting your driver licence, you must pass 2 practical driving tests:

  • The restricted licence practical driving test, to get your restricted licence.
  • The full licence practical driving test, to get your full licence.

Practical tests

How much does it cost to get your class 1 driver licence?

Application fee


Learner licence


Restricted licence


Full licence


The application fee includes the tests required for each stage. It’s free to change, cancel or rebook your test if you need to.

All fees include GST and are non-refundable.