Recommended tactical urbanism suppliers

Tactical urbanism is a relatively new way of delivering more people-friendly places in New Zealand.

Following an application process, Waka Kotahi has developed an initial recommended supplier list of consultancies that have shown project experience directly related to tactical urbanism.

This list was compiled to make it easier for councils to find experienced support for tactical urbanism project planning, co-design and/or delivery but they are not limited to using consultants from this list. Councils can choose to work with any organisations they would like.

As part of our wider Innovating Streets commitment to raising sector capability to deliver tactical urbanism across the country there will be opportunities for consultancies and other groups to get involved. More information will follow on this later in the year.


Consultants: Den Aitken, Linnea Calov Jacobsen, Alice Taylor, Sarah Pickens Office location: Blenheim In-person locations: Nationwide

Abley Ltd

Consultants: Jeanette Ward, Ann-Marie Head, Courtney Groiundwater, Kate brill, Shane Turner, Penny Gray, Tracey Flemming, Bridget Carden, Carl O'Neil, Ruhul Kumar, Benjamin Walch Office location: Christchurch In-person locations: Auckland, Waikato, Nelson, Canterbury

Adrian Morton Landscape Architects Ltd

Consultant: Adrian Morton Office location: Auckland In-person locations: Waikato


Consultants: Nick Bristed, Sloan Gunn, Ben Petch, Ahsleigh Johns, Nathan Harper, Sarah Price, Michael Thorne, Ajeshni Ram, Dawie Maritz, Daniel de Almeida, Tim Brown, Zoe Thompson, Raye Powell, David Gedney Office location: Auckland In-person locations: Auckland, Waikato, Bay of Plenty, Wellington, Canterbury, Otago

Align Limited

Consultants: Nick Williamson, Colart Miles Office location: Wellington In-person locations: Northland, Auckland, Wellington, Canterbury


Consultants: Rasmus Frisk, Yalda Pilehchian, Jeanette Frisk, Bodil Brødreskift, Andreas Mortensen Office location: Copenhagen, Sydney In-person locations: Nationwide

Arup New Zealand Limited

Consultants: Elizabeth Halsted, Phil Carter, Jamie Stronge, Greer Oliver, Fleur Martin-Austin, Michelle Kennedy, Scott Wickman, Stuart Knarston, Takeshi Naramura, George Alexander, Swaraj Baral, Aoife Staunton, Arthur Smart, Penny Hall, Callum Hooper, Emily Woodason, Mark Rowland Office location: Auckland In-person locations: Nationwide

Assurity Consulting Limited

Consultants: Cole Campbell, Darren Johnston, Sanjiv Menon, Angela Roper, Askhay Rao, Rahul Sharma, Brudgette Bell Office location: Wellington In-person locations: Auckland, Wellington, Canterbury


Consultants: Craig Pocock, Andy Lightowler, Richard Young, Marcus Brown, Emily Cambridge, Craig Richards, Martin Peat, Rojina Baisyet, Nick Guo, Chris Judd, Ben Frost Office location: Auckland In-person locations: National