COVID-19 SERVICES UPDATE: Information for all alert levels, Waka Kotahi services and more

SCAM ALERTS: Report a phishing scam or learn about the latest phishing emails

ONLINE SERVICES: We currently have an issue with receiving some payments and are working to resolve this issue as quickly as possible. We apologise for any inconvenience.

EASTER WEEKEND – PLAN AHEAD: Heading away for the long weekend? Check our holiday journeys tool(external link)

SCAM ALERTS: Refund email and Vehicle licence (rego) renewal phishing emails

Remutaka Hill closed over five nights from Sunday for essential work

|

Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency is reminding motorists that State Highway 2 (SH2) over the Remutaka Hill will be closed for five nights from Sunday 7 November to Friday 12 November, 9pm to 4am each night, to allow crews to safely complete essential work.

The five-night road closures enables road crews to safely undertake essential maintenance and slip prevention works for the safety of all road users.

Crews will also use the closures to set up an off-road worksite in preparation for retrieving the container and trailer that remain down the bank following the recent fatal truck crash. The retrieval operation will take place during the daytime under a closure of the slow lane and a 50km/h speed limit passing the site. Waka Kotahi will provide an update about the retrieval operation once details are finalised.

While these closure dates are fixed, bad weather or Covid-19 restrictions may cause works to be cancelled, possibly at short notice.

Motorists are advised to plan ahead. A limited escorted vehicle service is available for people who must cross the Remutaka Hill during these closures.

Bookings are essential as numbers are limited for your safety and the safety of workers at multiple sites across the hill.

Bookings should be done by: Friday 5 November by emailing: customer@capitaljourneys.co.nz.

Health and safety protocols will include people staying in their vehicle at all times and wearing a mask for any interactions with road staff.

Access will be available for emergency services throughout the closure.

Information on the Remutaka Hill closures, including the full schedule of planned closures up to June 2022 (external link)

Nights

Start 9pm

Finish 4am

5

Sunday 7 November 2021

Friday 12 November 2021

1

Sunday 9 January 2022

Monday 10 January 2022

5

Sunday 27 February 2022

Friday 4 March 2022

1

Sunday 10 April 2022

Monday 11 April 2022

5

Sunday 15 May 2022

Friday 20 May 2022

5

Sunday 22 May 2022

Friday 27 May 2022

1

Sunday 12 June 2022

Monday 13 June 2022

Plan ahead for a safe, enjoyable journey. Keep up to date with:

Tags