Skip to content

Traffic and travel updates: visit the Journey Planner website(external link) for more information about the latest road closures affecting the South Island following the recent weather events.

Access keys for nzta.govt.nz

  • h Home
  • m Menu
  • 0 Show list of access keys
  • 2 Skip to content
  • 3 Skip to top

Transport Agency reminds of high tides

|

Road users are reminded by that unusually high tides for the Waitemata Harbour has the potential to flood parts of Auckland’s Northwestern Motorway [SH16] during the next week.

Road users are reminded by the NZ Transport Agency that unusually high tides for the Waitemata Harbour has the potential to flood parts of Auckland’s Northwestern Motorway [SH16] during the next week.

High tides of up to 3.5m – about 0.4 metres higher than normal – will occur from today, Tuesday 30 March to Saturday, 3 April. Tides like this occur in Auckland every six to seven years. 

The area on the Northwestern Motorway most likely to be affected is causeway across the Waitemata harbour between the Patiki Road Interchange and the Rosebank Road bridges.

The cycleway beside the highway will be flooded, and the NZTA is advising cyclists to try to avoid using it 90 minutes either side of the high tide mark.

‘It is unlikely the motorway itself will be affected, unless weather conditions like strong winds have an impact on the tides,’ said the NZTA’s State Highways manager for Auckland, Tommy Parker.  ‘There is a traffic management plan to re-direct traffic away from the causeway if there is flooding.’

The NZTA is planning to raise the causeway by 1.5 metres and increase the width of the motorway to provide extra lanes as part of the Western Ring Route development.

The unusually high tides will occur throughout 2010 on the following dates.

  • Tuesday 13 July – Monday 19 July
  • Wednesday 11 August – Sunday 15 August
  • Wednesday 8 September – Monday 13 September
  • Thursday 7 October – Tuesday 12 October
  • Saturday 6 November – Wednesday 10 November

For more information on tide times, alternative routes or planned detours and closures please contact NZTA Auckland Motorways on 09 5200 200, email help@ama.nzta.govt.nz or visit www.aucklandmotorways.com(external link)

Top