Skip to content

Access keys for

  • h Home
  • m Menu
  • 0 Show list of access keys
  • 2 Skip to content
  • 3 Skip to top

2016 Awards

More than 60 projects were nominated for awards, and winners were announced at the 2 Walk and Cycle conference dinner by Hon Simon Bridges, Minister of Transport. There were six category winners, and six further projects that received highly commended awards. Award recipients were:

Supreme Award
  • Supreme Winner – Te Ara I Whiti (Light Path), Auckland
Innovation Hub Award
  • Category Winner – Te Ara I Whiti (Light Path), Auckland
  • Highly Commended – Safety Audit and Network Functionality Review (SANF)
Taking Communities on the Journey Award
  • Category Winner – Ciclovia, Wellington
  • Highly Commended – Hurunui BMX Club, Amberley
Big Bike Bling Award
  • Category Winner – Te Awa River Ride, Waikato
  • Highly Commended – Te Ara I Whiti (Light Path), Auckland
Get on Yer Bike Award
  • Category Winner – Rototuna Junior High School, Hamilton
  • Highly Commended – Bike to Soccer, Auckland
  • Highly Commended – Paekakariki Bike Library, Kapiti Coast
Bikes in Business Award
  • Category Winner – Trustpower, Tauranga
Outstanding Contribution to a Bike-Friendly Future Award
  • Category Winner – Max Robitzsch, cycling advocate and transport engineer, Auckland
  • Highly Commended – Jessica Rose, Frocks on Bikes, Auckland

2016 Bike to the Future Awards

2016 Bike to the Future Awards booklet

The wheels of change only turn when people are pushing on the pedals. The Bike to the Future Awards are an opportunity to acknowledge and celebrate all the pedal-pushers out there, the people and organisations working tirelessly and creatively to make cycling a safer and more attractive transport choice.

Download the Bike to the Future Awards booklet for 2016 [PDF, 2.8 MB].