2018 Bike to the Future Awards booklet


The Bike to the Future Awards are an opportunity to acknowledge and celebrate all the pedal-pushers out there, the people and organisations working tirelessly and creatively to make cycling a safer and more attractive transport choice.

The 2018 Bike to the Future awards winners were announced at the 2WALKandCYCLE conference dinner on Tuesday 31 July 2018.

Download the 2018 Bike to the Future Awards booklet [PDF, 2.2 MB]

View media release

On this page:

2018 judges

The 2018 awards were judged by:

  • Pippa Coom – Chair of the Waitematā Local Board, Auckland Council and transport portfolio lead
  • Richard Leggat – Chair of the New Zealand Cycle Trail, Chair of the Cycling Safety Panel, and Board Member of Cycling New Zealand
  • Simon Douglas – National Manager Policy & Research, and cycling spokesperson for the New Zealand Automobile Association

Back to top

Supreme award

Uni-Cycle Major Cycle Route(external link)
Christchurch City Council, Aurecon, Isaacs Limited, JFC City Care Joint Venture, and WSP Opus

BTTF 2018 Supreme Award winners2018 Supreme Award winners, the Uni-Cycle Major Cycle Route project team.

Back to top

Bikes at work and school award

This category covers organisations including businesses and schools which have made significant efforts to encourage and support cycling for staff, customers, or students.

2018 joint winners

Bikes in Schools Tairāwhiti
Tairāwhiti Connext Charitable Trust

Tauranga City Council E-Bike Initiative
Tauranga City Council

2018 finalists

Bikes in Schools & Bicycle Skills Training, Palmerston North
Sport Manawatū

Hastings District iWay(external link) and MoveIt! School Travel Plans
Hastings District Council, Sport Hawke’s Bay, ViaStrada Ltd

Back to top

Built excellence award

This category covers excellence in design, engineering and construction of transport infrastructure which has had a significant impact on encouraging more people to cycle and create a more bike-friendly future.

2018 winner

Christchurch City Council Uni-Cycle Major Cycle Route(external link)
Christchurch City Council, Velos Partnership (Opus & Aurecon), JFC City Care Joint Venture, Isaacs Limited

2018 highly commended

Junior Road Safety Park – Palmerston North
Palmerston North City Council, Pascal Street Community Trust

2018 finalists

Te Awa River Ride(external link) – Ngāruawāhia to Horotiu section
Te Awa River Ride Charitable Trust

Waterview Shared Path
NZ Transport Agency and the Well-Connected Alliance

  • Accordion 1

    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Pellentesque quis sagittis ante. Suspendisse et leo ex. In pellentesque aliquet elit, ac volutpat tellus tincidunt eget. Etiam in sapien a orci egestas interdum. Cras rhoncus nisl justo, sit amet tempus nibh molestie eu. In venenatis lorem lacus, vitae volutpat dui sagittis in. Morbi vestibulum ex at ipsum hendrerit, nec malesuada tortor laoreet. Aenean ut blandit leo.

    Duis convallis nisi ac risus molestie, nec pretium lacus sagittis. Suspendisse in luctus nulla. Integer non lacinia nulla. Morbi tempor lorem arcu, eu cursus odio hendrerit quis. Ut iaculis odio orci, ac dictum mi condimentum eget. Suspendisse ut nisi pretium, fringilla purus sed, pellentesque arcu. Cras pretium tortor mauris, quis pharetra libero lobortis eu. Ut ullamcorper posuere ligula, id suscipit odio laoreet in. Nam bibendum faucibus ante at pellentesque. Pellentesque ac semper lacus, ac laoreet tellus. In hac habitasse platea dictumst. Aenean nec volutpat neque.

    Donec ac libero at tortor dictum suscipit. Nunc posuere, sapien sit amet pulvinar laoreet, diam erat tempus felis, ut scelerisque leo metus eu nibh. Praesent molestie nibh non imperdiet elementum. Ut eu nisi eget libero vehicula accumsan. Nulla feugiat varius turpis, vel laoreet sem suscipit eget. Proin imperdiet facilisis neque. Morbi consequat, est non hendrerit semper, metus sem eleifend dolor, id condimentum sem felis quis nisl.

    Pellentesque pellentesque ultrices ante ut vehicula. Vivamus mattis et sem in posuere. Integer egestas turpis eget egestas commodo. Duis maximus arcu arcu, a efficitur est pretium vel. Nulla condimentum aliquet sagittis. Morbi vulputate pulvinar ante, sit amet dapibus elit. Praesent at nunc id velit ultrices luctus pharetra eu ipsum. Donec eget ante vel nulla suscipit tempor at ac ligula. Fusce ac fermentum turpis. 

    Close Back to top

Back to top

Outstanding contribution to a bike-friendly future award

This category recognises the outstanding contribution made by an individual to the promotion of cycling.

2018 winner

Alastair Smith

2018 highly commended

The Kennett Brothers (Jonathan, Simon and Paul Kennett)

2018 finalists

Cathy Jordan

Chris Teo-Sherrell

Richard Hamer

Back to top

Revolutionary award

This category covers initiatives and events which have educated, inspired, celebrated, promoted or encouraged cycling. They will have had a positive influence on changing attitudes towards cycling, irrespective of whether a person subsequently chooses to ride a bike.

2018 winner

Biketober Christchurch 2017
Cycling in Christchurch, Spokes Canterbury, Christchurch City Council, ViaStrada Limited

2018 highly commended

Tour Aotearoa 2018
Kennett Brothers, MaProgress

2018 finalists

Brett Cotter and the Big Bike Film Night(external link)

International Women’s Day – Refugee Women’s Cycling Instruction

Back to top

Taking communities on the journey award

This category covers excellence in communication or community engagement activities related to a cycling project which resulted in a community welcoming new infrastructure.

2018 winner

Kawatiri River Trail
Buller Cycling Club, Buller District Council, Department of Conservation